My version – Spicy Eggplant

I discovered this very interesting dish at one of our neighbors in New Manila (The Big Little Store). We sampled it and I personally liked it. It’s a bit spicy and very szechuan-ish but I find it too oily and bit pricey (65 pesos per 100 grams). So I decided to make my own version and it was a success… both my sister and my husband find my version better than the original. They really love me. Haha!

Image

Here is my version of spicy eggplant or Szechuan eggplant 😉

Ingredients:

5pcs. eggplant, cut into 2-inch-length-quarters

150 grams ground pork

2 cloves garlic, minced

1 medium sized onions, finely chopped

1/3 bottle of hot soybean paste (Kweichow Food)

Cooking oil for frying

Procedure:

  1. Cut the eggplant into 2 inch length, and then further cut into quarters (lengthwise).
  2. Fry until all sides are a bit brown. Use oil sparingly because eggplants absorb them.
  3. Set aside the fried eggplants.
  4. Using the same pan that you use for frying, sauté the garlic and the onions.
  5. Add ground pork and hot soy bean paste.
  6. Cover and cook until the ground pork is done.
  7. Add the eggplants.
  8. Stir lightly to coat eggplants with sauce.
  9. Turn-off heat and cover the pan to cook the eggplant a bit further.
  10. Enjoy! 🙂
2 Comments

Leave a Reply

