I’m officially on FB

After more than 9 years of Facebook’s existence, I finally signed-up an account today, May 17, 2013; 6pm to be exact. What makes me decide to finally sign up for an account now? Why only now? Why all of a sudden I decided to create an account? What made me decide to take this very bold step?

I know, you might be thinking that I’m making a huge fuzz out of this FB account that seems to be an ordinary thing for most (if not all) of you. But for me, it is a big step I’m taking, probably would give a surprise to most people I know. They might even think that this is not really me, so they won’t accept my friend request ;-).

I’m such a late bloomer in so many ways and honestly, I didn’t felt the need for a Facebook account then. I’m connected with my friends and family the old fashioned way, text messaging, email, phone calls and my favorite – extended tête-à-tête over a sumptuous meal. And I’m fine with that, totally happy and contented. Besides, I get to take a peek of FB world using my husband’s account. He’s allowing me to manage his account so that I can give him updates when he gets home from work, making it a part of our nightly chat. Also, I’m a trying hard minimalist… even with my social network, hoping for a less complicated daily life. Then, what makes me decide to enter the FB world? Homeschooling!

Last month, we seriously considered homeschooling our son; I attended an orientation and got rejected the same day… sad. 😦 But it didn’t discourage me, I looked at other avenues to explore the possibility of homeschooling our much-loved son, and true enough, there are so many other ways to reach our goal and there are a lot of people willing to help. I know that there are a lot of things that I need to do in order to be successful in homeschooling and if opening an FB account is one of the many, so be it.

5 Comments

Leave a Reply

